How I Got My Game On

Image Via

Whenever I make a new friend, one of the very first questions I ask them is if they enjoy playing video games. Yes, I know that the question may seem a bit trivial, but to me, this question gives me a scale of how close of a friend you may possibly become. And yes, I know that it is a bit shallow on my part. But video games have always been a big part of my life, even though I am not what most people would define as a “hardcore gamer.” I rarely play games competitively, nonetheless I still enjoy video games. They always say that you can judge a person based on the friends that they surround themselves with or “birds of a feather flock together.” Sayings like these are especially true for me. Friends always have at least one hobby or like in common. To be a close friend of mine, you must either be a fan of video games or anime (though that’s a topic for another time.)

What got me into video games? Well, as I’ve shared with you before, I have an older brother. And for those of you with siblings, more-so older siblings, sharing is one of those things that your parents begged you to do for the sake of their sanity, yet you insistently disregarded it and continually raised hell just to drive them closer to their graves. My brother is actually ten years older than me, so you can imagine that there was a pretty large disconnect when ever we wanted to play together. When I was five, my brother was fifteen; while I was just starting elementary school, my brother was beginning his high school career. Not to mention that boys play differently than girls; there was no way I would have been able to wrestle with him without breaking something. Our age gap made the chance of us actually playing together almost nonexistent.

However, Christmas rolled around, and with it came the solution to our problem:

The Nintendo 64 was revolutionary in our household. As a child, I loved (and still love) my brother dearly, but it always saddened me that we weren’t as close as the other sibling in the neighborhood. No older brother wants his little sister to tag along with him and his friends all the time, so I was often left behind. Yeah, we talked, but the things we could talk about were severely limited due to my young age. But then, we were gifted with a Nintendo 64 and a game called Mario Kart 64. Its often joked that Mario games break up friendships, but in my case it brought my brother and I closer together. We now had a topic that we could talk to each other about! And soon, we had a close bond that I still cherish to this day. And with that, my love of video games grew because it helped bridge the gap that I feared would never be crossed.

My current obsession with games stem from the happiness I felt as a child playing video games with my loved one. So when I ask you, “Oh, do you play any video games” the question is more personal that what you may have once believed.

 

2 thoughts on “How I Got My Game On

  1. skane12 says:

    Not a huge video game guy, but whenever the opportunity arises I am physically unable to resist playing Mario Kart, Super Smash, or Golden Eye on the good old N64.

Leave a Reply

